Downtown Algonquin Association Wednesday, April 5, 2023 10:00am Historic Village Hall, Algonquin

#### CALL TO ORDER

The Wednesday, April 5, 2023 meeting of the Downtown Algonquin Association was called to order by Greg Giegel at 10:05am.

# **ROLL CALL**

Greg Giegel, Julie Callahan, Taylor Prystawsky, Tony Colatorti, Jason Shallcross, Bob Novak, and Bill Hellyer were present.

Also in attendance: Peggy Blanchard and Tony Bellino, co-advisors.

#### CONSENT AGENDA

Motion to approve the agenda by Novak/Hellyer.

Roll: Ayes: 7 – Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Colatorti, Hellyer.

Nays: 0 Motion carried.

### **REPORTS**

A financial report was given by Giegel as follows: Algonquin Bank & Trust account has a balance of \$2,060.81. Wintrust donated \$1,000 at account opening. Geigel also contributed \$500 which will be applied to future membership dues.

## **AGENDA ITEMS**

"According to Article 4, Section 3; FIRST TERM BOARD OF DIRECTORS SHALL BE THE FOUNDING MEMBERS OF THE ASSOCIATION, A REPRESENTATIVE FROM THE VILLAGE OF ALGONQUIN AND ONE MEMBER CHOSEN BY THE MAJORITY OF THE FOUNDING MEMBER AND WILL SERVE ON THE BOARD UNTIL THE REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING IN NOVEMBER, 2024. AT THAT MEETING, AN ELECTION WILL BE HELD TO ELECT THE BOARD FOR THE NEXT 24 MONTH PERIOD OF TIME. THE VILLAGE OF ALGONQUIN SHALL ALWAYS MAINTAIN A SEAT ON THE BOARD. ALL MEMBERS OF THE ASSOCIATION THAT ARE VOTING MEMBERS AS DEFINED HEREIN AND THAT ARE IN GOOD STANDING WITH THE ASSOCIATION SHALL BE PERMITTED TO CAST ONE VOTE FOR EACH OPEN SEAT. THE 6 PEOPLE THAT RECEIVE THE MAJORITY OF VOTES SHALL BE ELECTED FOR A 24 MONTH TERM THEREAFTER."

The founding members of the Downtown Algonquin Association are as follows: Greg Giegel, Bold American Fare & Whiskey and Wine; Julie Callahan, Makity Make; Taylor Prystawsky, Fern Hill Market; Bob Novak, Riverbottom Ice Cream; Tony Colatorti, Cucina Bella; Bill Hellyer, William A Hellyer Ltd; and Jason Shallcross, Village of Algonquin.

Motion to appoint Greg Giegel, Julie Callahan, Taylor Prystawsky, Bob Novak, Tony Colatorti, Bill Hellyer and Jason Shallcross to the Downtown Algonquin Association Board of Directors by Novak/Callahan.

Roll: Ayes: 7 – Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Colatorti, Hellyer. Nays: 0 Motion carried.

Motion to appoint Taylor Prystawsky as Secretary to the Downtown Algonquin Association Board of Directors by Novak/Callahan.

Roll: Ayes: 7 - Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Colatorti, Hellyer.

Nays: 0 Motion carried.

Motion to appoint Julie Callahan as Vice-President to the Downtown Algonquin Association Board of Directors by Prystawsky/Hellyer.

Roll: Ayes: 7 – Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Colatorti, Hellyer.

Nays: 0 Motion carried.

Motion to appoint Jason Shallcross as Director to the Downtown Algonquin Association Board of Directors by Hellyer/Novak.

Roll: Ayes: 7 – Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Colatorti, Hellyer.

Nays: 0 Motion carried.

Motion to appoint Bob Novak as Treasurer to the Downtown Algonquin Association Board of Directors by Hellyer/Callahan.

Roll: Ayes: 7 – Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Colatorti, Hellyer.

Nays: 0 Motion carried.

Motion to appoint Bill Hellyer as Director to the Downtown Algonquin Association Board of Directors by Callahan/Prystawsky.

Roll: Ayes: 7 – Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Colatorti, Hellyer.

Nays: 0 Motion carried.

Motion to appoint Greg Giegel as President to the Downtown Algonquin Association Board of Directors by Prystawsky/Callahan.

Roll: Ayes: 7 – Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Colatorti, Hellyer.

Navs: 0 Motion carried.

Motion to appoint Tony Colatorti as Director to the Downtown Algonquin Association Board of Directors by Prystawsky/Novak.

Roll: Ayes: 7 – Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Colatorti, Hellyer.

Nays: 0 Motion carried.

Motion to approve the Downtown Algonquin Association By-Laws by Colatorti/Hellyer.

Roll: Ayes: 7 – Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Colatorti, Hellyer.

Nays: 0 Motion carried.

#### Fee Structure Discussion:

There are approximately 84 businesses within the Downtown Algonquin Association boundaries. Advisor Blanchard will provide directory to the Association. Director Shallcross will provide SSA summary to the board at the next scheduled meeting.

Director Shallcross also informed the board that the DAA will be receiving \$10,000 from the Village of Algonquin to assist with start-up costs, etc.

Motion to approve a membership fee of \$250/year for Businesses by Colatorti/Hellyer. Roll: Ayes: 7 – Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Colatorti, Hellyer. Nays: 0 Motion carried.

Motion to approve a membership fee of \$150/year for Commercial Property Owners by Colatorti/Hellyer. Roll: Ayes: 7 – Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Colatorti, Hellyer. Nays: 0 Motion carried.

Motion to approve a membership fee of \$100/year for Non-Profit/Affiliate members by Hellyer/Colatorti. Roll: Ayes: 7 – Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Colatorti, Hellyer. Nays: 0 Motion carried.

Motion to approve a membership fee of \$25/year for residents of Algonquin by Novak/Colatorti. Roll: Ayes: 7 – Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Colatorti, Hellyer. Nays: 0 Motion carried.

Motion to approve a membership fee of \$1000/year for Franchise businesses by Shallcross/Hellyer.

Roll: Ayes: 7 – Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Colatorti, Hellyer. Nays: 0 Motion carried.

Motion to approve the fee structure for Corporate Sponsors: Tier 1 \$500, Tier 2 \$1000, Tier 3 \$2500 and Tier 4 \$5000 by Prystawsky/Callahan.

Roll: Ayes: 6 – Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Hellyer. Nays: 0 Absent: 1 - Colatorti Motion carried.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:10am by Prystawsky/Callahan.

Roll: Ayes: 6 - Prystawsky, Giegel, Callahan, Shallcross, Novak, Hellyer. Nays: 0

Absent: 1 - Colatorti Motion carried.