DowntownAlgonquinAssociation December 4th, 2024 9:42 am Historic Village Hall, Algonquin



CALL TO ORDER

The Wednesday, December 4th, 2024 meeting of the Downtown Algonquin Association was called to order by Julie Callahan at 9:42 a.m.

ROLL CALL

Julie Callahan, Bob Novak, Christie Gabriel, Tony Colotorti, and Patrick Knapp were present. Bill Hellyer phoned in.

Others in Attendance: Peggy Blanchard, Stephanie, and Britney Colatorti

AGENDA

Motion to approve the Minutes from November 6th, 2024 Ayes: Callahan, Novak, Gabriel, Colotorti, Knapp, & Hellyer Nays: None

REPORTS

Treasurer's Report:

Account statement balance and payment of bills November 1st- November 30th balance beginning at \$15066.00 and ending at \$14947.68,with deposits and credits of \$0 and withdrawals of \$118.32 (to Chanda Marketing for DAA Banner). A check was made to Chanda for DAA Banner.

There are no outstanding invoices/bills The current balance in the DAA account is _\$14947.68 as of 12/04____.

Active Members and New Members: _total of_41____.

Colatorti motioned to send out the membership renewal email and invoices to all active members by 01/01/2025 with payment to be made by 01/31/2025, which passed by unanimous vote.

The membership fees will be prorated for the year after July 1st, 2025. All renewals will be on a calendar year moving forward. Treasurer prefers that renewals be paid by check to avoid the cost of administrative fees for online registrations.

President's Report:

Colatorti motioned to accept the resignation of Greg Geigel from the DAA Board of Directors. Novak seconded the motion. All Board members voted in agreement.

The Board approved Christie Gabriel, Secretary of the DAA to send out a notice to all members of the association, that they will be accepting letters of interest to serve on the 2025 Board of Directors should it be necessary.

The Board of Directors moved to defer the vote on officers for 2025 until the January 8th meeting.

Community Service Award

The Village informed the Board that the Algonquin Economic Development Commission voted for the DAA to receive the Community Service Award for the businesses volunteer efforts to form the DAA and get the organization in place to promote and market the downtown business community. The awards ceremony will be held on 01/13/2024 at 5:30 pm at Cucinia Bella. The Board members are invited to attend this event.

Presentation of Annual Report to Village of Algonquin Board of Trustees

The Board requested that Christie Gabriel present the minutes from the DAA annual meeting at the January 8th 2025 Village meeting. It was also requested that she present the DAA Annual Report at an upcoming Village meeting under business from the public. At such time, additional funding from the village will be requested for FY 2025/26.

The DAA will hold two fund raising events in 2025. The Wine Walk as well as another event, the details of which are still to be determined.

The Board also requested that Jennifer Chanda present a proposal to the DAA Board to assist with the management of the two events and the oversight of the webpage management.

The Board discussed having a Rules of Conduct drafted which will provide direction on how to treat fellow members of the DAA and etiquette for DAA Membership events.

Marketing Committee

At this weekend's Miracle on Main Event, Christie Gabriel will hand out goody bags with DAA membership information and candy from the Balcony of Julie's shop. DAA Banner to be placed on Balcony for the event as well.

In an effort to ensure a fully compliant event, the Chili Cook Off is still working through logistics. Julie Callahan to organize 2025 Marketing Committee improvements.

Membership Committee

Christie Gabriel will continue to head up the Downtown Algonquin Associations Membership committee but will seek other members to serve on the committee with her.

Old Business: None

Adjournment

Colatorti motioned to Adjourn the meeting at 10:46am, Novak seconded.

Respectfully submitted,

Christie Gabriel Downtown Algonquin Association Secretary

Approved at the 1/8/2025 Board Meeting Vote: Ayes: Callahan, Colatorti, Hellyer, Knapp, Gabriel, Novak: Abstain: Kopetsky